My Account My Bookshelf
Cart (0 Items)

Browse
In Theaters
Catalogs
Audio&eBooks
Our Narrators
Our Authors
Bargain Bin
 
Audio&eBook
#
Includes
companion eBook
Over 300 titles


Trusted Commerce

New York Times Bestseller

WICKED BUGS

The Louse That Conquered Napoleon's Army and Other Diabolical Insects

By Amy Stewart

Narrated by Coleen Marlo

     
5 Audio CDs List Price: $29.99    Your price: $14.991
EAN: 9781452602608
Mp3-CD List Price: $24.99    Your price: $9.992
EAN: 9781452652603
Audio Download List Price: $15.99    Your price: $4.993
EAN: 9781452672601
Also available at
Publication Date: 05/25/2011 Running Time: 5 hrs 30 min
  • 1Price reflects a sale price of $14.99.
  • 2Price reflects a sale price of $9.99.
  • 3Price reflects a sale price of $4.99.

Synopsis

Amy Stewart follows her wildly successful national bestseller Wicked Plants with an investigation of the insects, worms, and spiders that have tormented humankind for centuries.

Summary

Review Excerpts

"Coleen Marlo's narration is very clear and well paced." ---Library Journal Starred Audio Review

"Fans of Ripley's Believe It or Not and Guinness World Records will love this quirky little science book.…Coleen Marlo has a grip on the creepiness factor, taking on passages that make you cringe with a gleeful intensity in her voice that brings out the dark humor. Her deadpan delivery draws you in and lulls you into letting your guard down, only to sneak up and clobber you with details that will have you shivering with dreadful delight." ---AudioFile

"Stewart amusingly but analytically profiles the baddest bugs around in quick but attention-grabbing snapshots of little creatures that pack a lot of punch." ---Booklist

"Stewart's prose is simple and to the point. She lets the little horrors she describes work in the [listener's] imagination without any hyperbolic help from her. Guaranteed to cause sympathy itching and other discomfort." ---Kirkus

Summary

In this darkly comical look at the sinister side of our relationship with the natural world, Stewart has tracked down over one hundred of our worst entomological foes—creatures that infest, infect, and generally wreak havoc on human affairs. From the world's most painful hornet, to the flies that transmit deadly diseases, to millipedes that stop traffic, to the Japanese beetles munching on your roses, Wicked Bugs delves into the extraordinary powers of many-legged creatures.

With wit, style, and exacting research, Stewart has uncovered the most terrifying and titillating stories of bugs gone wild. It's an A to Z of insect enemies, interspersed with sections that explore bugs with kinky sex lives, creatures lurking in the cupboard, militant ants, and phobias that feed our (sometimes) irrational responses to bugs.

Wicked Bugs is a fascinating mixture of history, science, murder, and intrigue that begins—but doesn't end—in your own backyard.


NATUREInsects & Spiders
NATUREGeneral
TECHNOLOGYAgricultureGeneral
SCIENCEGeneral

Wicked Bugs
 
 
HEAR AUTHOR AMY STEWART
Recount some of her favorite stories about wicked
plants and bugs, in this exclusive interview.
 

Library Journal Starred Audio
MP3 Audio Sample
 

Other Titles by this Author
  Wicked Plants
 
©2000-2014 Tantor Audio